sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSouth Africa T20 league signs up 30 'marquee' international players

South Africa T20 league signs up 30 ‘marquee’ international players

sponsor banner
ads banner

The new T20 league in the CSA has announced that it has already signed over 30 “marquee” international players for its debut season. It is most likely to begin in January of 2020. Though the names of any of the players were not specified in its statement, the league said, “The numbers [are] set to increase as players enter the auction taking place in the next few weeks.”

According to a report, last month Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone and Jason Holder were some of the players who had signed up for the tournament.

The International League T20, the UAE’s new T20 league, will be directly competing for players within The league. It is also planned to start in January of next year. The league is expected to give players salaries up to USD 300,000. On the other hand, the ILT20 revealed a list of star players on Monday. Andre Russell, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Alex Hales, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Jordan, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are a part of it.

Each franchise in the CSA T20 league will have the opportunity to pre-sign up to five players prior to the next auction. Three will be from abroad, one South African international, and one uncapped South African. And will let four foreign players make up a starting XI.

“This is an important milestone for the League,” league commissioner Graeme Smith said.

“Having world-class South African players playing with some of the best cricketers around the world makes for some outstanding cricket. I’m mostly excited about our cricket pipeline’s young and upcoming talent. They will get to rub shoulders with some experienced and talented players which will no doubt inspire and help them to raise their own game.”

Mumbai Indians to have a franchise in South Africa T20 League

Groups that control teams in the IPL purchased all six of the CSA T20 league’s franchises. One of them goes by the name Mumbai Indians, and their franchise is called MI Cape Town. They also own the “MI Emirates” squad, which competes in the ILT20.

The two leagues in South Africa and the UAE will also compete against each other. As well as they will compete with the BBL and BPL.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.