sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSri Lanka vs Australia: 1st T20 Match Preview

Sri Lanka vs Australia: 1st T20 Match Preview

sponsor banner
ads banner

Sri Lanka vs Australia: Sri Lanka and Australia are set to lock horns with each other in the first T20I of the 3-match series on Tuesday, June 7. R Premadasa Stadium will host the highly anticipated encounter. For the unversed, both these two teams played against each other in a five-match T20 series in February this year. Australia crushed Sri Lanka 4-1 in that series.

Australia will once again go into the series as the favourites. They are coming with a full-strength side but the team might experiment with some young faces. Aaron Finch has already announced the playing XI for the first T20I. Aaron Finch and David Warner will open the innings, while the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, and Mitchell Marsh will form the middle order.

Marcus Stoinis and Mathew Wade will deepen the batting unit, while Ashton Agar will fill as the primary spinner. The pace department consists of the likes of Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood.

Sri Lanka too has numerous match-winners in their squad and is likely to give a tough competition. The presence of Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Matheesha Pathirana will keep the team in good stead. All three impressed one and all with their heart-warming performances in the Indian T20 League 2022.

It will be interesting to see how they perform in the upcoming series. Besides, the likes of Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilakanm, Kusal Mendis, and Charith Asalanka also have the potential to turn the game on its head. Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, and Kasun Rajitha are likely to be part of the playing XI in the fast bowling department.

Sri Lanka vs Australia Probable Playing XI:

Sri Lanka:

Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (wk), Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha


Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!