sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSri Lanka Women squad announced for Commonwealth Games

Sri Lanka Women squad announced for Commonwealth Games

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Sri Lankan team for the forthcoming Birmingham Commonwealth Games has been trimmed from the team elected to play India in the just-completed T20I series. Sri Lanka Women appointed a 19-member squad for the India series. Sathya Sandeepani, Kaushani Nuthyangana, Hansima Karunaratne, and Tharika Sewwandi have been left out of the CWG 2022. But are left out as the team now consists of 15 players.

Sri Lanka’s series against India did not go as planned. But their resounding victory in the third T20I of the series gave them hope that they could compete successfully on a global stage. Chamari Athapaththu will once more serve as the team’s leader. Kavisha Dilhari, a potential all-rounder, will also be expected to put in a strong performance for Sri Lanka.

Oshadi Ranasinghe and Inoka Ranaweera, who performed well against India, are two more key members of the team. Vishmi Gunarathne is expected to open the innings alongside Athapaththu.

The Sri Lankan squad has occasionally relied on their top order, particularly Athapaththu. The captain led her team to victory by herself and contributed some noteworthy top-order hits. Athapaththu stayed unbeaten at 80*(48) in the third T20I encounter against India while no other batters could perform.

Women’s cricket is being played at the Commonwealth Games for the first time. Hence, all eight teams will give it their best shot to win the Gold. Each squad will play each of the other three teams from their group once. Therefore, before the semi-finalists are announced, each side will play three matches.

Over the course of 10 days, 16 matches—including the championship match—will be contested. Sri Lanka will compete in Group B with the hosts England, New Zealand, and South Africa. The World Champions Australia, India, Pakistan, and Barbados make up Group A.

Sri Lanka Women Squad:

Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.