sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Shikhar Dhawan set to lead Delhi side

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Shikhar Dhawan set to lead Delhi side

sponsor banner
ads banner

India’s swashbuckling opener Shikhar Dhawan is all set to lead Delhi state team in the forthcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The left-handed batsman returned back to India after the white-ball series against Australia this month.’

Pacer Ishant Sharma will also be making his comeback from the injury as he will play for Delhi in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He was at the National Cricket Academy (NCC) in a rehabilitation camp recovering from the injury he had sustained during the IPL.

Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) released the list of 20-man squad of the state team for the T20 tournament slated to begin January 10. Delhi’s team will feature batsman Nitish Rana and bowler Pawan Negi who have a handful of experience of playing in the IPL.

Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the team and he himself is in a scintillating form and finished the IPL as one of the highest run scorers. He scored two centuries for Delhi Capitals in the IPL also aggregated 201 runs against Australia in the limited-overs series.

“In the Senior Selection Committee meeting held on Sunday attended by Ashu Dani (Chairman), Mohan Chaturvedi (Selector), Chetnya Nanda (Selector), Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Rajkumar Sharma (Coach) and Atul Wassan (Member CAC-DDCA), following players have been selected to represent Delhi in the Syed Mushtaq All Trophy T20 Tournament for the Domestic Season 2020-21,” DDCA stated in a document.

Last week, DDCA had appointed Rajkumar Sharma as the head coach of the state team and the players will join him for the training ahead of the tournament at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Delhi Squad: 

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ishant Sharma, Nitish Rana, Himmat Singh, Kshitiz Sharma, Jonty Sidhu, Hiten Dalal, Lalit Yadav, Shivank Vashisth, Manjot Kalra, Siddhant Sharma, Anuj Rawat (wk), Pradeep Sangwan, Simranjeet Singh, Pawan Negi, Ayush Badoni, Vaibhav Kandpal, Lakshay Thareja (wk), Pawan Suyal, Karan Dagar.

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.