sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsTHU vs STR, BBL 2022-23 Match 5, Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunders

THU vs STR, BBL 2022-23 Match 5, Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunders

sponsor banner
ads banner

THU vs STR BBL 2022-23: The fifth match in the Big Bash League 2022 will have Sydney Thunders take on Adelaide Strikers on Friday. The Thunders are coming into this game on the back of a one-wicket win over the Melbourne Stars.

A brilliant performance from the bowling unit helped the team restrict the Stars to just 122 runs in the first innings. Gurinder Sandhu, F Farooqi, and Daniel Sams all picked two wickets each, while Green and Doggett picked one each.

However, the batters made a meal of the run-chase and almost lost the game. Gilkes and Rossouw got out without scoring a single run, while Alex Hales (16), Sangha (24) and Ross (28) also got out after getting decent starts.

The match went right till the last ball but an unbeaten knock of 20 off 16 balls from Gurinder Sandhu helped the team win the match, in the end. The Thunders would be looking to continue the winning momentum heading into the next match.

On the other hand, Adelaide Strikers too registered a win in their last match. Batting first, the Strikers notched a formidable score of 184 runs in the first innings against Sydney Sixers.

Short played a sensational knock of 84 runs in just 53 balls, while Chris Lynn (41 off 34) and Adam Hose (40 off 22) also made handy contributions with the bat.

In reply, Sydney Sixers could only manage 133 runs, thereby losing the game by 51 runs. Henry Thornton was the pick of the bowlers, claiming 4 for 20 in 4 overs, while Rashid Khan made exceptional returns of 3 for 21.

THU vs STR head-to-head:

Over the last five head-to-head clashes, Syendy Thunder has won three games, including last season’s quarterfinals match by 6 runs. But, Adelaide Strikers won their last match by 51 runs against the Sixers, hence their spirits would be high ahead of this matchup.

THU vs STR Playing 11:

Sydney Thunder:

Oliver Davies, AD Hales, AI Ross, RR Rossouw, Jason Sangha(C), DR Sams, M Gilkes, Brendan Doggett, Chris Green, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Gurinder Sandhu

Adelaide Strikers:

AJ Hose, Thomas Kelly, CA Lynn, J Weatherald, Colin de Grandhomme, MW Short, HJ Nielsen, WA Agar, Rashid Khan, Henry Thornton, PM Siddle(C)

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and THU vs STR Live Score Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.