sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket ResultsCricket Men ResultsVijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Final: Sheldon Jackson’s ton helps Saurashtra clinch the...

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Final: Sheldon Jackson’s ton helps Saurashtra clinch the trophy

sponsor banner
ads banner

Ruturaj Gaikwad produced his fourth consecutive ton in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 final but it went in vain as Saurashtra won the match by beating Maharashtra by 5 wickets. For Maharashtra, Ruturaj Gaikwad, once again, stepped up with the bat as he laid a strong foundation with an outstanding knock of 108 runs in 131 balls, including 7 fours and 4 sixes.

The likes of SS Bachhav (27), Azim Kazi (37), and Shaikh (31) chipped in with useful contributions but none of them could go on to score big. As a result, Maharashtra was restricted to 248 runs in the first innings.

On a wicket which didn’t have a lot of assistance for the bowlers, it was a below-par total, to say the least. As for Maharashtra’s bowling unit, Chirag Jani made sensational returns as he picked up 3 wickets for 43 runs in 10 overs. Besides, the likes of Unadkat, Mankad, and Bhut picked one wicket each.

Sheldon Jackson comes as a knight in the shining armour

In reply, Saurashtra made a stunning start. Sheldon Jackson and Harvik Desai formed a 125-run partnership for the opening wicket. Mukesh Chaudhary, eventually, had Desai in the 27th over and in the same over, also got the wicket of Jay Gohil (0 off 2) to get his team back into the game.

However, the target wasn’t too big and Saurashtra needed just a batter to bat through the innings. They found that in Sheldon Jackson, who stayed unbeaten and guided the team to the target pretty easily.

He played an unbeaten knock of 233 runs in 136 balls while forming useful alliances with Arpit Vasavada and Chirag Jani. As a result, Saurashtra chased down the score in 46.3 overs.

For Maharashtra, Mukesh Choudhary (2 for 38) and Vicky Ostwal (2 for 20) were the only bowlers who made an impact with the ball.

Finally, Saurashtra managed to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Final, clinching the title.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Women’s Cricket Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.