sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsWBBL 2022 Schedule, Squads, Women's Big Bash League 8 Details

WBBL 2022 Schedule, Squads, Women’s Big Bash League 8 Details

sponsor banner
ads banner

WBBL Schedule: The 2022-23 Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL 08) is the eighth season of the famous women’s T20 cricket league established by Cricket Australia (CA) in 2015. The tournament is scheduled to be in action from October 13 to November 20 2022. 8 clubs made up of 15 players where each club is allowed up to five “marquee” signings of cricketers, with a maximum of three of those from overseas will be competing against each other on Australian soil.

The Perth Scorchers led by Sophie Devine won their maiden title in WBBL 07. Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder have each won two championships.

Teams and their squads

Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder are the eight teams.

For the first time in three years, every team will be playing at home. Added with the best overseas talent, each team will play 14 matches; twice with every other team before The Eliminator round. The teams who win the eliminator round will get to excel in the Semifinals and Finals.

Brisbane Heat signs up English star Danni Wyatt

English right-handed batter Danni Wyatt is a new addition. India all-rounder Pooja Vastrakar will make her WBBL debut in the shades of Brisbane Heat.

Squad:  Jess Jonassen (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Pooja Vastrakar (Ind), Danni Wyatt (Eng), Zoe Cooke, Nicola Hancock, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Mikayla Hinkley, Ellie Johnston, Charli Knott, Grace Parsons, Georgia Redmayne, Courtney Sippell, Georgia Voll

Adelaide Strikers strikes deal with Deandra Dottin

The West Indian Deandra Dottin who recently retired from Intl’ Cricket will be seen making a debut in WBBL 08 for the runners-up of WBBL 07.

Squad: Darcie Brown, Tahlia McGrath*, Megan Schutt*, Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Deandra Dottin (WI), Jemma Barsby, Tegan McPharlin, Annie O’Neil, Bridget Patterson, Maddie Penna, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Ella Wilson

Hobart Hurricanes are yet to get a coach

After Salliann Beams (ex-coach) became a general manager of Cricket Tasmania, the team is yet to get a coach this season.

Squad: Nicola Carey, Julia Cavanough, Mignon du Preez (SA),  Maisy Gibson, Heather Graham, Ruth Johnston, Lizelle Lee (SA), Emma Manix-Geeves, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Amy Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Molly Strano, Rachel Trenaman, Elyse Villani, Hayley Jensen (NZ)

Two overseas additions to Melbourne Renegades

Starting their campaign on October 16 against Strikers, the new addition of West Indies Captain Hayley Matthews looks promising. Australia stars Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham won’t’ partake due to injuries, and the team is looking for replacements.

Squad: Sophie Molineux (c), Tayla Vlaeminck*, Georgia Wareham*, Harmanpreet Kaur (Ind), Shabnim Ismail (SA), Hayley Matthews (WI), Sarah Coyte, Josie Dooley, Ellen Falconer, Ella Hayward, Carly Leeson, Rhiann O’Donnell, Georgia Prestwidge, Courtney Webb

Jemimah Rodrigues signs up with Melbourne Stars

Alice Capsey led the team as the ex-captain, and Meg Lanning took a break from cricket.

Squad: Alice Capsey (ENG), Lucy Cripps, Sophie Day, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Kim Garth, Rhys McKenna, Sasha Moloney, Sophie Reid, Jemimah Rodrigues (IND), Annabel Sutherland, Lauren Winfield-Hill (ENG)

Sophie Devine to lead Perth Scorchers again

All-rounder Heather Graham departing to Hurricanes looks like a loss for the defending champions.

Squad: Sophie Devine (c) (NZ), Maddy Green (NZ), Marizanne Kapp (SA), Alana King*, Beth Mooney*, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Holly Ferling, Lilly Mills, Chloe Piparo, Taneale Peschel

Sophie Ecclestone to debut in WBBL for Sydney Sixers

World no. 1 T20I bowler, Sophie Ecclestone will be a major hit for Sydney Sixers.

Squad: Ellyse Perry* (c), Ashleigh Gardner*, Alyssa Healy*, Sophie Ecclestone (Eng), Jade Allen, Nicole Bolton, Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle, Angela Genford

No overseas player for Sydney Thunder

With India’s Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma making an exit, the team hasn’t signed up any overseas player yet.

Squad: Rachael Haynes*, Sam Bates, Hannah Darlington, Jessica Davidson, Phoebe Litchfield, Olivia Porter, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson

WBBL 2022 Schedule:

WBBL 2022 Schedule, Squads, Women's Big Bash League 8 Details

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.