sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeOther StoriesWho is N Jagadeesan? Player who smashed five consecutive centuries in List...

Who is N Jagadeesan? Player who smashed five consecutive centuries in List A Cricket

sponsor banner
ads banner

Southpaw N Jagdeesan has shattered one of the most glorious records in List A cricket. The ace frontline batsman smashed a sizzling knock of 277 runs against Arunachal Pradesh in the ongoing edition of the Mastercard Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Jagdeesan surpassed the gigantic 268-run record set by England’s Alistair Brown against Glamorgan in 2002. His stupendous knock also edges past the subcontinent List A record set by Sripali Weerakkody (271) against Pushpadana Ladies in Sri Lanka Women’s One-Day Championship 2007.

N Jagadeesan TNPL

Jagdeesan’s sizzling form is definitely benefiting the trailblazers in Tamil Nadu. With the help of his elegant knock of 277, Tamil Nadu became the first team to post a 500+ run total and recorded the highest score of 506/2 by any side in List A cricket. Previously, the record was owned by England who scored a whopping 498/4 against the Netherlands earlier this year.

Notably, Jagdeesan also smashed the joint-fastest double-century in just 114 balls alongside Australia’s Travis Head who managed to score it against Queensland in 2021. Jagdeeshan also secured the highest and the only 400+ run stand alongside Sai Sudharshan for the first wicket.

Jagdeesan has been superlative and decisive towards his approach to the ongoing edition of the domestic One-Day Cup. He has so far smashed five consecutive centuries in the last five matches and became the only batsman to achieve the marvellous feat. As of today, the highest number of four consecutive centuries was smashed by only three other batsmen- Sangakkara, Robin Peterson and Devdutt Padikkal.

Jagdeesan’s exotic journey in the season begins with an exceptional 114-run knock against Andhra Pradesh. He kept on the momentum and consistency to smash 107 against Chhatisgarh, 168 against Goa and 128 against Haryana respectively.

N Jagadeesan Stats in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022

Currently, Jagdeeshan has 799 runs in his kitty with a number of scheduled matches. He is the second-highest scorer below Prithvi Shaw who scored 827 runs in the previous edition. With such a charismatic display of batting, it is likely that Jagdeeshan will emerge as the highest run-getter in any edition of the Vijay Hazare trophy.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.