sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsWI vs NZ: Kevin Sinclair named in ODI squad; Hetmyer returns

WI vs NZ: Kevin Sinclair named in ODI squad; Hetmyer returns

sponsor banner
ads banner

WI vs NZ: Shimron Hetmyer is back in the West Indies ODI lineup after rejoining the T20I squad last month. The middle-order hitter has been included in a 14-man team for the upcoming home series against New Zealand’s three-match ODI leg.

Hetmyer made his comeback for the T20I series against India and New Zealand. He had been out of West Indies colours since November 2021 primarily due to fitness reasons. He will soon play his first ODI match in July 2021.

“As we stated before, we are looking to broaden the pool of players, and we have decided to give Sinclair an opportunity in the CG United ODI Series against New Zealand,” lead selector Desmond Haynes said. “He has been in the system for a while and was also in the ‘A Team’ to play against Bangladesh ‘A’ in the upcoming series. We believe with his calm approach and skills he will do well in the matches against New Zealand.”

The inclusion of left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie in the squad is contingent upon his passing a fitness test. His participation in the ODI series against India last month was cut short by a finger injury.

Motie’s replacement throughout the series against India, leg spinner Hayden Walsh, is not included. Rovman Powell, a powerful middle-order hitter, and Romario Shepherd, an all-around seam bowler, are both no longer on the team.

Shepherd was benched for the third T20I against India after costly performances in the first two. Shepherd has the lowest economy rate of any bowler who has thrown down at least 60 balls in the final ten overs of ODI innings this year. He had a score of 10.28. Blair Tickner of New Zealand is far behind in second place with a score of 9.09, though.

Roston Chase and Fabian Allen, two all-around spinners, were unavailable for selection due to injuries and personal matters, respectively.

The first one-day international (ODI) against New Zealand is on August 17. The later matches are on August 19 and 21.

WI vs NZ West Indies squad: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Shai Hope (vice-capt), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie (subject to fitness), Keemo Paul, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.