sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsWomen's Asia Cup 2022: India-Pakistan face-off on October 7

Women’s Asia Cup 2022: India-Pakistan face-off on October 7

sponsor banner
ads banner

Bangladesh, the hosts, will play Thailand in the opening match on October 1 of the Women’s Asia Cup 2022. On the same day, India will play against Sri Lanka. Later on October 7th, they take on Pakistan.

Seven teams compete in the competition, playing six games against each other in a round-robin format. The top four teams advance to the semifinals. On October 13, the semi-finals will take place, and on October 15, the championship match.

Since 2012, the Women’s Asia Cup has been played in a T20 format. The 2012 edition featured eight teams divided into two groups and semifinal matches. The most recent iterations (2016 and 2018) featured fewer competitors and only the top two teams competing in the championship match.

Malaysia and the UAE have qualified through the ACC Women’s T20 Championship. They will be competing among six-time champion India, hosts Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. Afghanistan no longer has a women’s squad because of the Taliban’s rule. On Tuesday, ACC President Jay Shah tweeted the complete schedule.

Bangladesh to host the tournament:

Bangladesh will host women’s matches for the first time since 2018. All games are scheduled to be played in Sylhet at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium and Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium. The hosts are also the defending winners after defeating India in a nail-biting final in 2018. Due to the pandemic, the 2020 edition could not be held.

India is the most successful team in the history of this tournament. They have held the trophy six times to date. And very well they are confident enough to win it for the seventh time too.

India women’s squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022:

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbineni Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Jhulan Goswami, Taniyaa Bhatia and Jemimah Rodrigues.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.