sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsWomen's Under-19 T20 World Cup: Shafali Verma to lead India; Richa Ghosh...

Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup: Shafali Verma to lead India; Richa Ghosh also picked

sponsor banner
ads banner

Shafali Verma, 18, will represent India at the 2019 Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup. She and Richa Ghosh will be India’s seniors. Shweta Sehrawat is coaching the Under-19 team in a T20 series in Mumbai.

Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp were left off England’s Under-19 roster, therefore India added Shafali and Ghosh. The 2019 Women’s T20 World Cup and England’s West Indies tour prompted this change.

Shafali has played 46 T20Is, 21 ODIs, and 2 Tests, whereas Ghosh has played 25. Born after August 31, 2003, Ghosh can play.

Shafali and Ghosh bat behind Sehrawat, Trisha, Tiwari, and Mendhiya. Trisha (115 runs) and Tiwari (106 runs) lead the series. Trisha’s 117 runs in the Women’s Under-19 T20 Challenger Trophy were second to Sehrawat’s 163. Sehrawat scored the most in the Under-19 Quadrennial T20.

Haryana’s Under-19 middle order bats and bowls off-spin. She scored 187 runs in six innings to win the Women’s Under-19 T20. Four wickets and 67 runs in the Quadrangular Series.

Titas Sadhu, Hurley Gala, Falak Naz, and Shabnam MD will pace. Sadhu has five T20 Challenger Trophy wickets and two Senior Women’s T20 Trophy wickets for Bengal. Gala bowls and bats quickly.

Punjab will select right-arm spinner Jasleen Kaur, who took five wickets in the fourth T20, and off-spinner Mithali Raj, who took four.

Hrishita Basu can back up Ghosh’s wicketkeeper. Shafali and Ghosh hadn’t played Under-19 before the World Cup.

Shikha Shalot, Najla CMC, and Yashashri are reserved.

India & SA to lock horns in five T20s

From December 27 to January 4, India U-19 will meet South Africa U-19 in five T20 matches. South Africa will play at Benoni on January 14.

South Africa, UAE, and Scotland are in India’s Group D. The top three teams from each group advance to the Super Six phase. The competition begins on January 25 with group play and ends on January 29 in Potchefstroom.

Squad: Shafali Verma (capt), Shweta Sehrawat (vice-capt), Richa Ghosh (wk), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mendhiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (wk), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD.

Standby players: Shikha Shalot, Najla CMC, Yashashri

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and AUS vs WI Test Series Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.