sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsZIM vs IRE: Gary Ballance returns to side as Zimbabwe name T20I...

ZIM vs IRE: Gary Ballance returns to side as Zimbabwe name T20I squad

sponsor banner
ads banner

ZIM vs IRE: Ace England batsman Gary Ballance is all set to make his T-20 International debut for the Zimbabwe cricket team. Ballance had previously represented the England Cricket team and played for the Yorkshire Cricket Club. Gary’s transfer was earlier approved by ECB and he is now set to play for his home nation.

Zimbabwe is set to host Ireland for a three-match T20I series that is scheduled to start on January 12 at the Harare Sports Complex.

In his noteworthy stint for England, Gary Balance represented the England Cricket team in 23 Tests and 16 ODIs. He made his debut in 2014 and played his last international fixture in 2017. The left-handed batsman was finally released by Yorkshire on his request after which he confirmed his availability to Zimbabwe cricket. Ballance had previously played for Zimbabwe at the U-19 Level.

Gary Ballance is one of the four changes in Zimbabwe’s T20I side. Veteran all-rounder Sikander Raza has confirmed his unavailability due to some other commitments and was not included in the side. Wicketkeeper Regis Chakabva, paceman Blessing Muzzarabani and Milton Shumba are out with injuries. They will be replaced by Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia and Victor Nyauchi.

Craig Ervine will continue to lead Zimbabwe’s frontline squad. The squad also comprises senior players including Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara and Richard Ngarava. Here is Zimbabwe’s T20I squad for the Ireland series:

Zimbabwe Squad for Ireland T20I series:

Ervine Craig (c), Ballance Gary, Burl Ryan, Chatara Tendai, Evans Bradley, Jongwe Luke, Kaia Innocent, Madande Clive, Williams Sean, Madhevere Wessly, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Masakadza Wellington, Munyonga Tony, Ngarava Richard, Nyauchi Victor

The three T20Is will be played on the 12th, 14th and 15th of January. The T20I series will be followed by an ODI series starting on January 18. All the fixtures will take place at the Harare Sports Club.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and ZIM vs IRE Series updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.